Distinguished Alumni: Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Created by Aravind S, Modified on Thu, 08 Jun 2023 at 01:45 AM by Shreya Gupta

C G Krishnadas Nair 

1960 - 1964 | B.Tech

Mr. Krishnadas Nair received his PhD from the University of Saskatchewan in Canada. He transformed HAL into a globally competent aerospace industry as Chairman, with a tenfold increase in business and substantial profits. He oversaw the design and development of the Advanced Light Helicopter as well as other advanced aerospace equipment. He was the Indian Institute of Metals' President. He is a member of the INAE and the Aero Society. Padma Shri (2001), National Metallurgist Award, INAE Lifetime Achievement Award, Centenary Aviation Award, and Best Chief Executive Award are among his many honours.

Atul H. Chokshi

1976 - 1980 | B.Tech

Mr. Chokshi earned his PhD from the University of South California in the United States. He is currently a Professor at IISc Bangalore's Department of Materials Engineering. He taught at the University of California, San Diego for five years and has held visiting faculty positions at more than six universities in the United States, Europe, and Japan. Chokshi is one of the world's top 100 most cited materials scientists. He is an IAS, INAE, INSA, and NAS Fellow. He has received numerous honours, including the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award (2003) and the Metallurgist of the Year award (2001).

Sundararajan G.

1972 - 1976 | B.Tech

Mr. Sundararajan earned his doctorate from Ohio State University. He is currently a Professor at IIT Madras' Department of MME. He has served as the Director of ARCI, Hyderabad, for over a decade. Sundararajan has made significant contributions to the development, demonstration, and commercialization of materials-based technologies during his tenure. Over 35 technologies have been transferred to private industries across India in the last ten years. Sundararajan has received numerous honours, including the Padma Shri (2013) and the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1994).

Dipankar Banerjee

1970 - 1974 | B.Tech

IISc Bangalore awarded him his PhD. He joined DMRL in Hyderabad in 1979 and rose through the ranks to become its Director from 1996 to 2003. From 2003 to 2010, he was the DRDO's Chief Controller, R&D. He is currently a Professor at IISc Bangalore's Department of Materials Engineering. Banerjee also serves on the board of governors of IIT Madras and chairs the ARDB's GTMAP programme. He is a member of the INAE, INSA, IAS, and NAS. Padma Shri (2005), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1993), National Metallurgists award (1987), and DRDO's Lifetime Achievement award (2014) are among the many honours he has received.

This content on this page is provided by a current student or an alumnus of IIT Madras. While we follow best practices, it is possible that there are errors, or the content is incomplete. When in doubt, always verify with an official source.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article